Opportunities: Architectural Design


Eileen Gray Thesis Prize
The Eileen Gray Thesis Prize is awarded annually for outstanding design thesis in the Parsons Master of Architecture program.

Golden Portfolio Award
The Portfolio Award is awarded to the student with best architecture portfolio in the graduating class as determined by level review evaluations.

Academic Honors
Academic honors are awarded annually to a student for outstanding academic performance in the Parsons Master of Architecture program.

Departmental Honors
Departmental honors are awarded annually to a student for outstanding contributions to the Parsons Master of Architecture program.

AIA Henry Adams Certificate
The AIA Henry Adams Certificate is awarded annually to the second-ranking Master of Architecture student for overall achievement in the Department of Architecture, Interior Design, and Lighting.

AIA Henry Adams Medal
The AIA Henry Adams Medal is awarded annually to the top-ranking student for overall achievement in the Department of Architecture, Interior Design, and Lighting.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal
The Alpha Rho Chi Medal is awarded to a Master of Architecture student who has shown an ability for leadership, performed willing service for his/her school and department, and shows promise of professional merit through his/her attitude and personality.


American Architectural Foundation
The AAF manages a number of fellowships and scholarships supporting undergraduate and graduate architecture students, including the AAF Minority/Disadvantaged Scholarship, the RTKL Traveling Fellowship, and the Richard Morris Hunt Fellowship in Historic preservation. For details on these fellowships go to:American Architectural Foundation.

American Association of University Women
The AAUW “promotes equity for all women and girls, lifelong education, and positive societal change.” Its Educational Foundation offers fellowships to support professional study in a number of fields, including architecture. Selected Professions Fellowships are awarded to women who intend to pursue a full-time course of study at accredited institutions during the fellowship year in one of the designated degree programs (including architecture) where women’s participation has traditionally been low. Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents. For more information go to AAUW Master’s and First Professional Awards.

American Institute of Architects NY Chapter
The AIA NY hosts a number of architecture scholarship programs including the Eleanor Allwork Grant for students enrolled in architecture programs in New York, the Douglas Haskell Awards for Student Journalism, the Stewardson Keefe LeBrun Travel Grant, and the Arnold W. Brunner Grant. Information on these programs is available at AIA NY Chapter.

Architectural League New York
The Architectural League New York administers the Deborah J. Norton Fund, which was established in 1995 in memory of architect and arts administrator Deborah Norden. The fund awards up to $5,000 annually in travel/study grants to students and recent graduates in the fields of architecture, architectural history, and urban studies. For more information visit Architectural League.

Architectural Precast Association
The APA offers the $1,500 Tom Cory Scholarship for students pursuing an architectural degree prior to their final year of study. Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. Additional information and an application form is available at APA.

Ermanno Piano Scholarship
This scholarship supports a six-month internship for recent architecture graduates at Renzo Piano Building Workshop offices in Paris. The grant amount is 10,000 Euros. For more information and application material visit the Renzo Piano Building Workshop.

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
The DAAD offers graduate scholarships to highly qualified graduate students to support research or degree-related coursework at universities in Germany for 1 to 10 months. The New School is a DAAD partner. For more information on graduate scholarships visit DAAD.

Hispanic Scholarship Fund
The HSF offers scholarships for qualified full-time university students pursuing their first undergraduate or graduate degree. For more information visit HSF.

Kate Neal Kiley Memorial Fellowship
The Kate Neal Kiley Fellowship, administered by the College of Fine and Applied Art (FAA) at the University of Illinois, offers support to defray the cost of advanced architectural design studies in the Unitesd States or abroad. For more information visit the FAA.

Rotch Traveling Scholarship
The Rotch Traveling Scholarship was established in 1883 to advance architectural education through foreign study and travel. Rotch Scholars are chosen annually through a two-stage competition. For additional information visit Rotch Scholarship.

Shepley Bulfinch Richardson Abbot Summer Fellowship

This fellowship provides a stipend of $7,000 to support a 10 week fellowship at the firm of SBRA in Boston. The fellowship provides “a broad perspective of design in the firm’s open studio environment.” The program is open to all students pursuing a professional architecture degree. For information visit Shepley Bulfinch.

Worldstudio Scholarships
Founded in 1993, the Worldstudio Foundation is “a not-for-profit organization whose primary goals are to stimulate, coalesce, and channel social activism in the design and fine arts industries.” The Worldstudio offers scholarships to matriculated students in the creative arts, including architecture, based on financial need. For information, visit Worldstudio.